7.01.2004

Louise Erdrich has a new book out, Four Souls. Louise Erdrich is one of our major novelists, but you would never know that from, say, the National Book Award, or from the way people talk about our major novelists. They go like this:

"in the tradition of DeLillo, Pynchon" etc.

SO, the next time someone lists a bunch of male novelists to you as if they are gods, I want you to roll your eyes (sweetly), and then scream "Louise Erdrich! Toni Morrison!" and then, if you're up for it, do a couple of dance moves, like the cancan or the electric slide, perhaps, to emphasize your point.

--Elizabeth
|

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?