CAAF, of Tingle Alley, raises an elegant eyebrow at the National Book Critics Circle award nominations:
It’s a nice slate of fiction nominees: Edwidge Danticat, The Dew Breaker; Alan Hollinghurst, The Line of Beauty; David Mitchell, Cloud Atlas; Marilynne Robinson, Gilead; and Philip Roth, The Plot Against America. But in discussing these nominees, can we have a moratorium on retroactive bashing of the National Book Award fiction nominees? Haven’t those five women from New York had enough bitter mixed in with their sweetness?

Hasn’t Rick Moody suffered enough?!?

The books in the nonfiction, criticism and biography categories were all written by men with the exception of De Kooning: An American Master, which was cowritten by Mark Stevens and Annalyn Swan.

Just saying.
Read the rest right here.



<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?