I know that many of you are members of the Emerging Writers Network, but if you're not, do consider signing up! It's a totally free service provided by the dedicated Dan Wickett and you can get the warm fuzzies from being part of a wonderful community of talented folks (and scoops on writers-to-watch).

I found the latest email to be so valuable and full of insight that I'm pasting it in full here. You can sign up for the newsletter at emergingwriters.net:
Some big things going on - follow up on the Million Writers Award, a new short story contest, an EWN member comes in 2nd in an Atlantic Monthly contest, and the new Poets & Writers is on stands!

StorySouth's Million Writers Award for Best Online Story of 2004 has announced their top ten stories. Congratulations go out to all, but especially Jai Clare and Richard Grayson, both of whom are EWN members. The link at the end of the list leads to
where you can place your vote between now and the 31st!

o Terry Bisson "Super 8" (Scifiction.com)
o Jai Clare "Bone on Bone" (Agni)
o Xujun Eberlein "Second Encounter" (Paumanok Review)
o Alicia Gifford "Toggling the Switch" (Narrative Magazine)
o Richard Grayson "Branch Libraries of Southeastern Brooklyn" (Fiction Warehouse)
o Trebor Healey "The Mercy Seat" (Blithe House Quarterly)
o Dave Housley "Ryan Seacrest Is Famous" (Barrelhouse)
o Joan Shaddox Isom "Remade Tobacco" (Eclectica Magazine)
o Corey Mesler "Madame Sabat's Grave" (Pindeldyboz)
o Chika Unigwe "Dreams" (Eclectica Magazine)

To read the stories and to vote for your favorite, go right here.


Ann Arbor Book Festival announces a SHORT STORY CONTEST

There will be a cash prize as well as having your story published in HOBART for the winner of the annual Ann Arbor Book Festival Short Story Contest. Entries for original short stories will be taken starting now, which is sort of in conjunction with the 2nd Annual BookFestival in Ann Arbor, MI. Entry fee $10; deadline Aug. 1, 2005. The Guest Judge is Jonathan Ames. The winner will be announced at Fall Fundraiser Event for the Book Festival, date TBD.

Submit entries to:

Shaman Drum Bookshop
311-315 S. State St.
Ann Arbor MI 48104
c/o Ann Arbor BookFestival


Kyle Minor has recently been awarded 2nd place by Atlantic Monthly for their student non-fiction contest. A detailed press release from Ohio State University can be read here.

The new Poets & Writers has just come out and it is full of EWN goodness:

There's an article about Rattawut Lapcharoensap, as well as an interview with Ted Kooser (yes, these should seem familiar, the EWN covered them last month!).

There's also a great column on Low Residence MFA Programs by EWN'er Erika Dreifus.

Three EWN members were also noted for having received awards recently:

Ruth L. Schwartz has won the Autumn House poetry contest for her collection, Dear Good Naked Morning; Chimamanda Adichie won the Hurston/Wright Foundation Award for Debut Fiction for Purple Hibiscus; and Tracy Daughtery won the Oregon Arts, Inc. Ken Kesey Award for the Novel for Axeman's Jazz.

There should be a new BRC much later tonight/early tomorrow morning with a review of Sam Lipsyte's Home Land and an interview with Sam himself.

Dan Wickett
So fabulous -- join today!


<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?